RSS

2012: Challenge, Opportunity and Growth

23 Oct

I was sent a very encouraging card today by a friend and colleague with this very image/quote on it. It came as a huge encouragement as I feel that I am facing quite a number of challenges as well as opportunities. 2012 has been a year of significant challenge but also significant growth in my life. After a season of comfort and convenience this year has not been that. Although tough and at times (many times) I have felt utterly out of my comfort Zone, I have also been really grateful to learn lots and grow lots as a person.

I am going to be speaking on this theme tomorrow (only briefly for 6-8 mins) and if honest am feeling daunted at the prospect. But its also a great challenge and a great opportunity.

From beginning the year doing the Rice and Beans challenge and realising just how utterly little I really know and understand about what it truly means to be hungry, to right now where I am nearer the end of my journey and feeling very daunted and challenged, Its been a significant journey.

I have been really struck by the challenge of Poverty in the UK and the amazing initiatives that are seeking to address these needs. I was humbled and inspired by being at the Tearfund UK conference last month and to interact with great initiatives captured so well in these brilliant films.

I have been really challenged by my children. There zeal and energy, their lack of inhibition and fear, their profound and hungry questions! And also by the incredible responsibility and privilege it is to be their Dad and be entrusted with this joy and this role.

So here is to a life that is full of challenge, adventure, opportunity and learning, which leads to growth and transformation, even when that feels slow or really tough!

I did a great course this year which kick started all this for me in this season called Growing Leaders. One of the things we explored in the course was the importance of living life more and more in the learning zone! The comfort and terror zones are ok in small doses, but if we really want to flourish and be fully human then learning is where its at!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2012 in Passion, Rice and Beans Challenge

 

Leave a Reply

 
