RSS

Journey 7 Day 17

13 Sep

In the film American Beauty, Lester, a grumpy middle-aged man, has an epiphany following his mid-life crisis, and begins, at last, to appreciate the nature of beauty, and beautiful times: 

“Sometimes I feel like … it’s too much,” he reflects. “My heart fills up like a balloon that’s about to burst. And then I remember to relax, and stop trying to hold on to it, and then it flows through me like rain, and I can’t feel anything but gratitude for every moment of my stupid little life.”

I’m not having a mid life crisis but I think of late I have had a bit of a crisis/critical set of moments that have caused me to think, reflect and make me want to seek to live a fuller, more meaningful, fulfilled and good life. To choose good, to choose hope and positivity over the feeling of living in the mundane.

The Summer of amazing Olympics and Paralympics have unlocked something. Personally and also in terms of community, relationships and society. The wave and the high may not be sustainable, but is the legacy?

All good things have a season and must come to an end. Brian Draper’s recent thought for the day reflects that. However its how we come out of the good times and use these as a catalyst or springboard for continuing the good.

Adam Hills ‘The Last Leg’ was a superb and key experience for me. Combining passion, appreciation, depth and comedy it was a great mix of the stuff of life and made the paralympics for me!

Continuing in an attitude of gratitude, exploring possibilities and taking some initiative seems like a great thing. To live life in all its fullness and to value people and situations is a good springboard for growth and gratitude, simple but important!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 13, 2012 in Journey 7

 

Leave a Reply

 
