RSS

Journey 7: Gratitude – Day 1

28 Aug

This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. (Psalm 118:24)

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them. John F Kennedy

And so my latest journey begins. Gratitude. Its an attitude and state of being that I aspire to model and live in. I sometimes do it sucessfully, but in all honesty, I do it rarely. Despite being open, relaxed and in many ways content I am all to aware of my shortfalls. Comparing myself to others rather than being Grateful for who I am. Coveting more stuff and more full stop rather than being Grateful for what I already have, which when I put it into perspective is a lot!

Contentment and Gratitude are things that I don’t always seek or easily model and live out.

In some ways I am glad about this. Restlessness, discontent and striving for better can be good things. I certainly struggle with the idea of being content, complacent and comfortable. However sometimes those things are good, right and I do yearn for them! Gratitude as a way of being seems to significantly increase happiness and well being. There is something wonderful about appreciating people, family, a moment, circumstances and life.

I’m aware that Gratitude is not something that is possible or indeed right in all circumstances. The importance of honesty and recognising that there is a time for discontent, frustration and complaint is right and valid and important.

However there is also a valuable importance to grasping gratitude and living out of that attitude in the every day.

For me the gratitude that I have so often witnessed when Travelling to Kenya, India and Malawi to visit and work with Tearfund partners is very humbling and inspiring. It puts a lot into perspective when people who have relatively little can be so grateful, generous and hospitable with so little.

I want this journey to enable me to grow in contentment, thankfulness, gratitude and to say that what I have in my life is good and to be appreciated much more.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 28, 2012 in Journey 7

 

Leave a Reply

 
