RSS

Journey 6 Day 40 – Meet the Superhumans

27 Aug

I began this journey in a cast and using crutches, having ruptured my Achilles Tendon in Late June. I end it in an air boot, still some way off full recovery. My recovery is going well. My Achilles has ‘healed’ and is back to being rejoined. Physio and extensive work are now the key to my full restoration and being able to fully walk and function again with full use of my Achilles.

This journey also ends as the London 2012Paralympics is about to begin. The stories of many of the athletes are simply incredible, inspiring. The courage is impressive. I have loved the build up to the Paralympics courtesy of Jon Snow’s Paralympic show. The stories and the conversation have been great.

I’m looking forward to lots of myths being shattered during these games and more great stories of courage, triumph over adversity and and great sporting drama and excellence that raises the profile but also respect of these amazing athletes.

I feel inspired, humbled and thankful and am so glad to be going to several events during the games.

Roll on the opening ceremony, which in itself looks set to challenge and inspire, and let the contest begin!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 27, 2012 in Courage, Journey 6

 

Leave a Reply

 
