RSS

Journey 6 Day 39 – A New Name

26 Aug

There is something incredibly liberating and freeing in living out of and in the light of our true identity. There is also something very courageous about it. To discover it and then be bold enough to do it is really very hard, but if we can do it then we may be a significant step closer to being able to live life in all its fullness.

Yesterday I began reading ‘A New Name’ by Emma Scrivener. I have since found it almost impossible to put down. The book is so well written. Human, Harrowing and compelling. Its quite a story and quite a journey. The honesty in the book is hard reading at times but also makes it so compelling and profound. I am glad that Emma has the courage to do this.

If you want to read the story more briefly Emma has provided this summary on her brilliant website.

I have found the book helpful in all sorts of ways. Thank you Emma

Thank you to the many people who have demonstrated and modelled the importance of courage and being courageous.

I feel that I am still in my infancy when it comes to living courageously. I am very keen to grow in courage and definitely taking steps to courageously live more out of who I really am and my true identity. To have courage to Let me Yes be Yes and My No be No. This journey, this blog, developing honesty relationships and facing up to and into conflicts and challenges are all helping. What is also helpful is discovering more and more about true identity and the writings of Henri Nouwen, John Eldridge and Maggi Dawn have further helped and inspired me. As have family, friends and colleagues. Thank You.

The journey is almost at its end. I move onto ‘Gratitude’next. I’m far from having perfected that art either, but it is something that I do reasonably well. My natural positive, encouraging and contented nature helps. But looking forward to being able to live out gratitude more fully.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2012 in Journey 6

 

3 responses to “Journey 6 Day 39 – A New Name

  1. emmascriv

    August 27, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    Thank you Matt – and what an inspiring site!

     
  2. mattcurrey

    August 27, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    Thank you Emma. And Thanks for the encouragement.

     

Leave a Reply

 
