RSS

Journey 6 Day 33 – New Beginnings

20 Aug

Today I began a new role at work. It started in style in the wonder that is Richmond Park. A truly stunning and amazing park and a place to think big, dream dreams and literally touch and see an incredible expression of the beauty and creativity of God and the beauty and creativity of his Kingdom. I loved that my new job could begin in this way and thanks to my new team leader for the idea and the innovation.

I massively respect and give thanks to all that has gone before, Its brilliant and has made me the person that I am today. I am also excited and inspired by what is ahead and what possibilities and opportunities lay ahead in this next chapter or stage of my life.

I feel that the week leading up today has also been significant. I’ve had a great week in Norfolk and space to play, rest, be, relax, think and take time away from any form of work. It has been brilliant. Alongside this I have been reading John Eldridge’s rather fabulous book called ‘Waking the Dead. The Glory of a heart fully alive’. Its been timely to rediscover the importance of coming fully alive. Fully alive at work, in relationships, with family and friends and every aspect of life. To be truly at peace with self, thankful, grateful, inspired and rooted in my true sense of self and identity. To be fully human and flourishing.

In the book I came across this rather brilliant and challenging quote from Nelson Mandela.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” 

Create in me a new heart O God and renew a right spirit in me (Psalm 51)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in Courage, Journey 6

 

Leave a Reply

 
