RSS

And so the journey begins…

19 Dec

2012… The Year of the Olympics, The Diamond Jubilee and also the Celebration to mark 40 Years of Tearfund offering trips/travel which is now done through its Transform Programme. Transform are doing quite a few things to celebrate 40 years of trips including an epic 40 Day African Adventure and a Celebration Event in November 2012. The Transform programme seeks to enable people to embark upon an adventure of service and discovery, we like to call it a pilgrimage. I was also really inspired when reading 2 particular books. Mark Powley’s Consumer Detox and Maggi Dawn’s Accidental Pilgrim to take some kind of journey of my own.

So I thought it would be good, a challenge and a chance to discover more by embarking on a journey of my own in 2012. I’m going to be taking 9 Journeys, each one 40 Days in length…. I won’t be physically journeying on transform trips but taking the time to intentionally live out and reflect upon each of the 9 themes for 40 days at a time. Each of my travels with Tearfund to Kenya, India, Russia and Malawi have provided some great, challenging and very humbling experiences, where I have met many very inspiring people and had experiences that have humbled and inspired me and I hope the flavour and spirit of those journeys.

So on January 1st I begin Journey 1 which I have decided to call Detox. The reason for this is that all journeys need time of preparation and I’m going to use Journey 1 to explore that a lot more as well as Road test some challenges (Eating Rice and Beans for a week from 9th Jan)

Other themes for the Journeys will include Generosity, Simplicity, Contemplation, Hospitality and Celebration (Journey 9 to coincide with the Transform 40th Celebration event and to Celebrate the end of my Journey)

I will be blogging, experiencing and reflecting. Activism and thinking about how to Live and Journey through life with greater integrity and with the values that the Journey themes bring out. I’m excited and also daunted. It should be an adventure and I hope to learn, grow and hopefully fundraise a little for Tearfund on the way.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “And so the journey begins…

  1. Lucy Mills

    January 4, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Great idea Matt – will enjoy reading your thoughts!

     
  2. Jan

    January 4, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Look forward to following your journeys Matt 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
